Internet Killed the Audio Star
Style: Math and much more...
Release date: April 19th 2010

Remember The Buggles "Video Killed the Radiostar", big hit from the eighties. Be now ready for ”Internet Killed the Audio Star” by New Approach to Martyrs Expressions.

You may sometimes write a review with full analysis for each song. You can also take few songs as the best ones or as an illustration of what you are trying to say about the CD contents.

Here, sorry, nope! I cannot, or should I say, do not want to do it. Am I too lazy? Jeps. But I have mitigating circumstances: think about violent math metal, sludge and atmospheric pop, spiced by many other music styles, breaks, changes during 13 songs and 77 minutes. A happy chaos, for Arioch’s sake!

Because of the many variations and the length of this ”far beyond” music piece, some could fully loose the sense of orientation. NAME’s American trio do not want to ease the listener’s task: it is up to you to follow them. I am actually not sure they care if you do it or not. It is great in a way: art it is.

If you are only into good old heavy metal, NAME is definitely not for you, even a millisecond of their music. If you are more open, take a deep breath, then give a real but worth try for a good trip.


01 - Killer Whales, Man
02 - My Sweetheart, the Whore
03 - The Spark of Divinity
04 - Empathic Communicator, Part I: Homage to the Hunter (Unconscious Incompetence)
05 - Empathic Communicator, Part II: Beebee (Conscious Incompetence)
06 - Empathic Communicator, Part III: Your Sun Machine, Your Space Embracer (Conscious Competence)
07 - Empathic Communicator, Part IV: How to Murder the Earth (Unconscious Competence)
08 - Mare
09 - The Sycophant, the Saint and the Gamefox
10 - Dave Mustaine
11 - Avaler l'Océan
12 - You'll Never Die in this Town Again
13 - Charmer

Label: Lifeforce Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Philippe Leconte
Date: June 1st 2010
Website: NAME @MySpace