Desert Call
Style: Progressive Metal
Release date: January 26th 2010

What a surprise this album is! Hello Symphony X fans wake up and buy the new Myrath album. You can hear that they are influenced by Symphony X, but they don't copy them. Myrath hails from Tunesia and normally you don't expect that a band from a "not known for their many heavy bands" country to deliver such high quality. Starting as a cover band playing Death and later on Symphony X songs, they recorded their first album 'Double Face' (only released in Tunesia) back in 2005.

Their world-wide debut album 'Hope' was produced by Kevin Codfert (Adagio) and released in 2007. From that moment on the band has gained respect and the album received good reviews in several magazines. The big engine behind Myrath is guitarist and main songwriter Malek Ben Arbia, he started this band in 2001 at the age of only 13. The fact that he has already graduated from the French International guitar Academy "M.A.I." confirms his talent. That talent expresses itself throughout the whole album.

What makes Myrath something different and special is the Arabic influences in the songs. The singing-style, the percussion and the melodies all have eastern influences and are used in a very natural way. The only thing that need a little bit of work is the irritating Eastern vocal whining sounds, which occurs at time. But, with songs as strong and well-arranged as on the last Symphony X album 'Paradise Lost' you can imagine that this 'call of the desert' is a pearl in your hands. Everyone, who claims to be a progressive metal or Symphony X fan, should at least have listened to this record and I almost know for certain that when you have, you will purchase it. Together with Orphaned Land, one of the best progressive albums so far this year!


01. Forever and a Day

02. Tempests of Sorrow

03. Desert Call

04. Madness

05. Silent Cries

06. Memories

07. Ironic Destiny

08. No Turning Back

09. Empty World

10. Shockwave

11. Hardtimes

Label: Nightmare Records
Promotion: Connecting Music
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: February 7th 2010