Mia Hope
We are just Satellites
Style: Progressive hardcore
Release date: February 8th 2010

Are you looking for something catchy but also complex, hardcore but also death and math metal (here, more fluid geometry than abstract algebra...), aggression and inspired melodies?

Would you like to start the decade with fierce, solid, modern bass and rhythm guitar? Drums full of changes with the good idea, always at the right time and place? Melodic and mesmeric lead guitar? Last but not the least, a screaming, raw and dry voice?

Mia Hope should please you.

These British musicians do not sound like an inexperienced band, even if “We are just Satellites” is their first record. I guess they kill on stage!

They are not here to highlight their technique, which is indisputable, but their song writing which gives twelve compositions of quality and a well balanced track-listing for a record you listen to from the beginning to the end with an equal pleasure.

I cannot actually say such song is better than another and “We Are Just Satellites” is a real, whole musical piece. Perfect for a car trip as far as I am concerned.


1. Pollyana
2. (Filmed Like a) Modern Day Noir
3. Great Danes with Wings
4. Microbial Culture
5. More Optimistic Days
6. Nows Not a Good Time
7. 50 Year Storm
8. Eating Out of Pandora’s Box
9. Susseration : the Escape
10. Last Stand of the Unicorns
11. Glass Buildings with Amazing Lights
12. Writing in the Dark

Label: Rising Records
Promotion: Gordeon Music
Reviewed by: Philippe Leconte
Date: January 16th 2010
Website: Mia Hope @ MySpace