Martyr Defiled
Style: Deathmetal/core
Release date: September 20th 2010
Playing time: 34:16

Martyr Defiled is a new name for me and without info included I had to search on the internet to learn something more about the band. They hail from the UK and this is their debut-album. They released one EP called "Ecophagy" and they have already shared the stage with All Shall Perish, The Black Dahlia Murder and Despised Icon. They signed a deal with Siege of Amida Records (a new label for me too) to release this debut.

From starters, they play the roof tiles of my house. Very Aggressive grunts and growls combined with devastating death metalcore. The songs are very fast, sound brutal and sometimes have a kind of groove. The drums are very fast and tight and you can hear that the band is rather technical. Fans of Whitechapel and Black Dahlia Murder will like this band for certain. Now you have an idea what style Martyr Defiled is playing.

The song that differs most from the rest of the stuff is "Excommunicate", a slow track with some clean guitar parts. What counts for the band is that they dare to experiment and don't play it safe all the time. This variation in the songs sees to it that you don't lose interest.

A nice average album that will certainly please some metal heads.


01. Enigma

02. Maelstrom

03. An Act Of Sedition

04. Masochrist

05. I:Zealot

06. II: Excommunicate

07. III: Collusion Feat: Jason Evans

08. The Sectarian State

09. Archae

Label: Siege Of Amida Records
Distribution: Plastic Head Music
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: October 20th 2010