Acceptance of Death
Style: Death/Thrash Metal
Release date: September 15th 2010
Playing time: 33:00

When I looked at the cover of this CD, my immediate thought was: 'This one will start with a scream.' Call it intuition or experience, I don't know what it is, but in truth, 'Acceptance of Death' by Polish death/thrashmetal veterans begins with a scream.

This band will not fail the exam because of lack of energy, that's for sure. It's hard to avoid a comparison with Vader, especially because the Slayer influence is there as well. That aside, Magnus isn't quite in the premier league with Vader.

There are really, really cool passages all over the album (try the beginning of To Understand Death for example), but on the whole much of what's going on is predictable as the first lines of this review exemplify. The attempt to make something really surprising, They'll Bury, sadly falls flat on the floor. It's a terrible track. Downright annoying.

By all means a listen-worthy album (except They'll Bury) by a band that deserves attention, there are just other death/thrash metal bands out there that in my humble opinion offer more interesting material.


01. False God

02. Appear

03. Spirits
04. Essence
05. Worm
06. To Understand Death
07. Nothing More
08. Private Religion
09. When You Rest 6 Feet Under
10. They'll Bury
11. Mournful Song
12. Just Like Life
13. There's No Use Lamenting

Label: Witching Hour Productions
Promotion: Sure Shot Worx
Artwork rating: 50/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: October 19th 2010