Close To Eternity
Style: Gothic/Symphonic Metal
Release date: February 2010

Holland is very well known for its many female-fronted (gothic/symphonic) metal bands; Within Temptation, The Gathering, Epica, After Forever and Autumn are/were the most popular ones. Magion started in 2005 and recorded this debut album during 2007 and 2008. The mastering was done by Dan Sw�no and the album was recorded in the Excess Studios Rotterdam (After Forever, Gorefest, Epica, and Ayreon). The beautiful artwork of Jobert Mello finishes the very professional release. Unbelievable that they couldn't find a company to release this quality album.

After releasing a 3 track promo-CD in 2009, the critics were very praising. Listening to this complete album, I have to co-sign that statement. The music is a mix between Within Temptation and Nightwish, with excellent singing by Myrthe van Beest. She is not the same level as Tarja (ex-Nightwish) or Sharon (Within Temptation) just yet, but that is just a matter of time. The songs are orchestral, sensitive, atmospheric, bombastic, have nice arrangements, warm keyboard-parts and a nice drive. Several times the tempo increases and that see to it that you don't doze away in your chair. The songs "Lost in Reality" and "Almost Immortal" are graced by some violins and an occasional male grunt/growl adds some heaviness. In "Almost Immortal", the resemblance with a band like After Forever is unmistakable.

Perhaps Magion is not the most original band, but they aren't a copy too. Magion introduces enough own elements in the songs and the balance between heavy and serene parts is very well balanced. Guitarist Chris Vrij wrote the majority of the tracks and that can be heard back in the guitar sound, there is enough room for them in the songs and they are rather in front of the mix.

A nice album for all the symphonic metal fans and I think Magion has a nice future ahead of them. Buy this album and prove the record companies wrong for not signing them.


01. Tabula Rasa

02. Thirteen

03. Murder of Innocence

04. Greed

05. Game of Madness

06. Lost in Reality

07. Forever Mine

08. War of Hearts

09. New Season

10. Almost Immortal

11 Song For the Living

Label: Self Release
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: May 14th 2010