Dark Diary
Style: Melodic Metal
Release date: May 28th 2010

Romanian melodic power metal band Magica has similarities to Within Temptation, After Forever, Nightwish and Edenbridge. However, Magica displays a much heavier sound while remaining melodic. 
How do you break out of the female-fronted gothic/symphonic or melodic power metal cliche? By having more of a variety within the music. And Magica pulls this off admirably. 
The band creates catchy choruses and symphonic orchestrations with a dose of heaviness. The song structures are heavier and more progressive than the aforementioned female-fronted bands. Keyboards are mixed with crunchy riffs, decent guitar solos and double kick drumming. What this band does well is vary each song, combining the melodic power metal with the right amount of heavy riffs sure to keep the metalheads happy. 
Ana Mladinovici has a decent voice with operatic melodies, but she’s not annoyingly ear-piercing as other women in the genre. 
"Wait For Me" and its simplistic poetic melody is catchy with a heavy edge. "Never Like You" is a midpaced anthem, with backing vocals and progressive riffs mixed with keyboards to add to the flavor of the song. "On The Side Of Evil" has a great chorus but basic riff; however, the tempo variation makes it a memorable one. 
Magica is one of the best female-fronted melodic power metal bands out there and could gain more popularity. They won't please every metalhead, but they can be very enjoyable, if given the chance.

01. Anywhere But Home 
02. Tonight 
03. Never Like You 
04. Wait For Me 
05. Need 
06. Release My Demons 
07. On The Side Of Evil 
08. My Kin My Enemy 
09. Used To Be An Angel 
10. We Are Horde 
11. Dear Diary
Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: May 24th 2010