Machines of Grace
Machines of Grace
Style: Hard Rock/Melodic Metal
Release date: March 19th 2010

They call their style a mix between melodic metal, hard rock, modern rock and acoustic rock, and that's exactly what they deliver. But what have they done to elevate their music above the competition? Well, first of all they have 2 rock dinosaurs in their ranks: drummer Jeff Plate (Trans-Siberian Orchestra, ex-Savatage, ex-Metal Church) and vocalist extraordinaire Zak Stevens (ex-Savatage, Circle II Circle), and that surely helps.

Because besides another very good vocal performance from Zak there really isn't much that separates them from the masses. Fourteen very well executed and produced songs, but there is simply too much boiler-plate material on this album. Only a few songs leave a lasting moment and I do miss the killer tracks. The catchy chorus or the memorable melody line is missing...

Still a solid and interesting start from Machines of Grace and Zak's presence alone is enough to make people take notice, and the album does deserve your attention if you listen to hard rock on a daily basis!


01. Just a Game
02. Psychotic
03. Fly Away
04. Innocence
05. The Moment
06. Prelude
07. Between the Lines
08. This Time
09. Breakdown
10. Soul To Fire
11. Promises
12. Bleed
13. Better Days
14. This Time (Acoustic)

Label: SAOL/H'art
Distribution: A:Larm (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: May 23rd 2010
Website: Machines of Grace @ MySpace