James LaBrie
Static Impulse
Style: Progressive Metal
Release date: September 27th 2010

I am not sure whether or not the latest turmoil in his main band Dream Theater has had any kind of influence of this album, but the fact is that this is by far the darkest and most aggressive solo album by James LaBrie (so far), including MullMuzzler.

James LaBrie and his creative partner on his solo albums Matt Guillory have made an album that gives us an heavier and more aggressive take on the route they began with "Elements of Persuasion" (2005), adding quite a few Gothenburg influences throughout the 51 minutes of music. Musically we are taking a step forward compared to his first solo album, and I like the darker approach to things. But they are never turning their backs on their progressive roots; they are simply adding another layer or two to things thus making this a more aggressive and heavier progressive metal journey.

If you liked his first solo album and still believe that "Train of Thought" is one of Dream Theater's finest moments then I am sure you'll like this one as well.


01. One More Time (4:16)
02. Jekyll Or Hyde (3:46)
03. Mislead (4:18)
04. Euphoric (5:09)
05. Over the Edge (4:20)
06. I Need You (4:11)
07. Who You Think I Am (3:57)
08. I Tried (3:58)
09. Just Watch Me (4:18)
10. This Is War (4:30)
11. Superstar (3:32)
12. Coming Home (4:29)

Label: InsideOut Music
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: September 15th 2010
Website: www.jameslabrie.com