Style: Melodic Black Metal
Release date: June 7th 2010

Istapp hails from Sweden and Blekinge is an area next to the Baltic sea. The music we get served is melodic black metal with folky influences. The production is rather open and good for a black metal act. Next to the aggressive vocals there are also clean ones. I have to say that these clean vocals are rather o.k., I have heard a lot worse ones lately.


There is lots of variety on this album and the compositions are well constructed. The combination of folk and melodic black metal is in proportions and makes the album interesting. Some folky parts as for example on the 5th track remind me of Heidevolk, even Finntroll enters my mind every now and then.


Why isn't this a top album then? Because they play things we have all heart before. It isn't very original, nevertheless I give the band the benefit of the doubt. With a little luck they will gain more recognition and arise from the underground.


Check this out if you like folk combined with melodic black metal!


01. Vinterriket

02. Köldens Union

03. 1160 (Miovik)

04. I Väntan På Den Absoluta Nollpunkten

05. Evig Köld Koncentrerad

06. Snö

07. Fjällhöga Nord

08. Bortgang Af Alvrödul, Ljusets Förfall

09. -

10. Blekinge

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: June 1st 2010