Ion Dissonance
Style: Technical Mathcore
Release date: August 23rd 2010

Holy shit, these Canadians certainly does not let the grass grow under their feet. In ADHD style they throw their fast and furious extreme mathcore through the boxes, and they do not calm down. Sometimes it is rather fast and chaotic and you certainly have to appreciate the genre to like it.

This, their fourth record, sorry guys I missed the first three, is a bit too much for me. I have to admit I'm not a real fan of this genre and Ion Dissonance is rather extreme. But, after a few spins I discover the structures in the songs and I even get used to the music and start to like it. Vocalist Kevin screams and growls as if it was his last minute on our beloved earth and the two guitar players see to the necessary variation. The bass has a rather dominant role and the double bass drums hammer away on full-speed.

All in all, a good album for this genre. I am a little less enthusiastic, that's why some of you can add 10-15 points to my rating.


01. Cursed

02. You People Are Messed

03. The More Things Change, The More They Stay The Same

04. This Is The Last Time I'll Repeat Myself

05. No Care Ever

06. After Everything That's Happened, What Did You Expect?

07. We Like To Call This One - Fuck Off

08. Can Someone Please Explain This To Me?

09. Disaster In Sight

10. This Is Considered A Mere Formality

11. This Feels Like The End

12. They'll Never Know

13. Pallor (Bonus track)

Label: Basick Records
Promotion: Gordeon Music Promotion
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: August 15th 2010