A Way Away
Style: Pop
Release date: June 25th 2010

Fünf hübsche Mädels aus Finland and I can only see two reasons why they are getting any space here: they are signed to a big metal label and the album was produced by Tuomas Holopainen (Nightwish), because musically we are far, far away from the norm here. Musically we are in solid pop territory with focus on a very strong vocalist, which brings up some links to the singer/song writer genre.

Cut into the bone and looking at the music at hand, we do have a good and solid pop album with a very strong vocal performance, spiced up with a few sparse rock riffs and done by five talented female musicians. Isolated I do like what I hear, and am sure I will listen to the album every now and then.

I can see two reasons why any of our regular readers should consider buying this album:
1. You simply have to have all releases from Nuclear Blast.
2. The wife's birthday is coming up and you need one more album to get over the limit at your normal metal pusher.

01. Islands Of Lights (3:02)
02. Precious Dark (3:50)
03. Children of Frost (5:21)
04. Lilja's Lament (5:54)
05. In Passing (3:44)
06. Scissor, Paper, Rock 4:29)
07. A Way Away (5:05)
08. Straight And Arrow (3:32)
09. As If (3:29)
10. Eerie Eden (7:54)
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Distribution: Nuclear Blast Records
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: May 10th 2010