In Arkadia
Wasteland Chronicles
Style: Thrash (Melodic) Death Metal
Release date: October 1st 2010
Playing time: 47:42

Before this brand new album called ’Wasteland Chronicles’ this French band released two albums which I’m not familiar with... so I can’t compare them to this brand new release.


The French is playing a mix of thrash and (melodic) death metal with a hint of modern touches and they are doing a quite good job in my opinion. Their catchy but not sappy riffs mostly feel like a nice punch in the stomach and the drummer provide us with ever changing rhythms that invites you to bang you head like crazy here and there. Just take a listen to track 4 “Shock Doctrine”  and they’ll show you how to weave together a song that contains everything most of us like in metal; Melodic riffs that suddenly burst into pure yet controlled thrash... a nice solo, great drumming and so on. This track rules, boys and girls.


“Wasteland Chronicles” features Kai Hansen, Dirk Schlächter (Gamma Ray) and Julien Truchan as special guests... and that’s another plus in my book.


And last but not least: The production is excellent... crystal clear yet powerful and every instrument is clearly audible... so there’s no reason not to check this album out now.


01. Rising Aggression

02. Telluric 

03. Drain Me Out Of Time

04. Shock Doctrine

05. Forever Dusk

06. Slaves To Sin

07. The Thing That Makes Me Die

08. Quasar IV

09. The Agonist Pledge

10. Doomed To Murder

11. Didaskalia

12. The Witness

Label: Twilight
Distribution: Twilight Vertrieb
Artwork rating: 58/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: October 9th 2010