Majesty and Decay
Style: Death Metal
Release date: March 3rd 2010

Majesty? Yes, indeed! Decay? No, none whatsoever!

Immolation have been around for more than two decades now, but I hear no signs of old age. The technical level is high,  diversity is imminent, the drumming is furious and complex, yet at the base of it all is pure and unadulterated death metal with a brutal growl.

The riffs are like a stream of sound, none of the staccato metalcore thing, no, it's like a stream that pours over you. Listen to the title track - then you'll know what I mean! Or A Glorious Epoch and The Comfort of Cowards - same thing. Exactly this sound and method is what makes some of the death metal bands of the old school so fantastic.

If you want staccato, well, Immolation's got that for you too; The Rapture of Ghosts has a cool staccato intro that leads us into one of the must straight-forward tracks of this crushing album.

'Majesty and Decay' is a must for fans of Nile, Morbid Angel and...well, death metal! Pick it up as soon as you can!


01. Intro (1:19)
02. The Purge (3:18)
03. A Token Of Malice (2:41)
04. Majesty And Decay (4:29)
05. Divine Code (3:38)
06. In Human Form (4:04)
07. A Glorious Epoch (4:37)
08. Interlude (2:04)
09. A Thunderous Consequence (3:58)
10. The Rapture of Ghosts (5:19)
11. Power And Shame (3:44)
12. The Comfort of Cowards (5:52)

Label: Nuclear Blast
Promotion: Nuclear Blast
Artwork rating: 80/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: July 28th 2010
Website: Immolation @MySpace