Heaven Shall Burn
Invictus (Iconoclast III)
Style: Melodic Deathcore
Release date: May 24th 2010

This is my first close encounter with this German band called HEAVEN SHALL BURN but hopefully not my last ‘cause I kind dig what they have to offer on this album called ‘Invictus (Iconoclast III)’.


Obviously they have completed their Iconoclast trilogy with this album recorded in Denmark by Tue Madsen and produced by the guitarists. Sound and style wise we are talking melodic deathcore with Gothenburg influences shining through. There are even some black metal passages to be found, so you better beware.


We get all the right trademarks such as aggressive, screaming vocals... fast riffs peppered with lots of melody in the background. Not every single song here is a winner in my humble opinion but most of them are... even though it took this CD a couple of spins to grow on me.


The songs needs a few listens to come alive but they will ‘cause the band have created a splendid atmosphere that supports the songs great.


Maybe I should do myself a favour and check out their back catalogue... because this band is on to something great here.


- Nice one!


01. Intro

02. The Omen

03. Combat

04. I Was I Am I Shall Be

05. Buried In Forgotten Grounds

06. Sevastopol

07. The Lie You Bleed For

08. Return To Sanity

09. Against Bridge Burners

10. Of Forsaken Poets

11. Given In Death

12. Outro

Label: Century Media Records
Distribution: EMI (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 40/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: May 17th 2010
Website: www.myspace.com/officialheavenshallburn