Ground Control
Style: Heavy Metal/Thrash
Release date: September 24th 2010
Playing time: 00:00

I'm stirring the corners of my aging brain here. Thinking back, I believe that the last album I received from Italian Ground Control, 'Insanity' from 2006 impressed me. And I'd also like to think that it was slightly harder than the disc I'm writing about right now.

'Dragged' is not a hard album. There are elements of thrash, si, but it is first and foremost a heavy metal album. Is it well-played? Yes, it is indeed. Is it a revolution in any way? No, not at all.

If I were to point at things that drag down (haha) the grade, I would have to mention Marco Vighini's voice which sounds a bit strained when he sings with a clean vocal - which he does way too often. His voice is much more suited for the style used in the song Wasted. There he sounds quite cool. This is probably the best song of the album, by the way. Cool riffing.

The other thing I have to point to is the tune For What? This is in my view the disaster of the album. A cock-rock tune that doesn't fit in with the rest of the album at all and by the way doesn't suit Marco at all.

An approved release, but it will not reach the classics list, not by a mile. 


01. Intro
02. Pray & Die
03. Lost
04. Breath
05. Final Solution
06. For What?
07. Wasted
08. Days in Rage
09. Leave Me Alone
10. Outro

Label: Punishment 18 Records
Promotion: Punishment 18 Records
Artwork rating: 30/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: October 16th 2010