Style: Melodic/ traditional heavy metal
Release date: October 26th 2009

There is no school like the Old School! And Old School metal is what we have here. Well done without being too say the least. Grimmstine plays classic melodic heavy metal and you will find both ballads and some fast tracks on the album. Actually you will probably find the album quite diverse. Some would perhaps say messy, but I really don’t think so. It just draws upon different sources from the past and it is really what I would call good craftsmanship.

Even though this is a debut album the members of the Grimmstine are far from novices in the world of metal. Steve Grimmett is the former lead singer in ‘Chateaux’, ‘Steve Grimmett Band’, ‘Friction’, ‘Lionsheart’, ‘Medusa’ and ‘Onslaught’, but to most probably best known as the front man in ‘Grim Reaper’. And can he still sing then? Of course he can! You can barely hear he has grown older. Together with guitarist Steve Stine he proves that traditional metal is still worth your while. The rhythm section is manned by bassist Hat and drummer Dave Johnson, both from the band ‘Sons of Poseidon’. I don’t know the work ‘Sons of Poseidon’ but the effort of the two gentlemen is really good and together with a very fine vocal performance from Grimmnet and the superb guitar work from Stine it all ads up to musicianship that is really very good.

Since the album is so diverse it is difficult to pick out some single tracks, because it all depends on what you are in the mood for, but I for one prefer the faster tracks for the ballads on this one, especially 'Got Nothing But Time' and 'To Catch a Killer'.

So if you like old school heavy metal or hard rock I can only recommend Grimmstine.


01. Memory

02. 911

03. Supernatural

04. Got Nothing But Time

05. To Catcj A Killer

06. You'll Never Know

07. It's Over

08. Prisoner

09. You Give Me Love

10. Straight As An Arrow

11. 'Til They Take MY Wings

12. Take This Air

13. Afraid of the Dark

14. This Don't Look Like Love to Me

15. To Sing a Lullabye (Immy's Song)

Label: Metal Heaven
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 68/100
Reviewed by: Steen Schøn
Date: March 16th 2010