Promise Land
Style: Melodic Hard Rock
Release date: February 26th 2010

Something many have wished for for a long, long time has finally happened; Giant has produced an album that can compare up to their highly acclaimed debut album 'Last of the Runaways' from 1989. Quite an accomplishment because their debut album is rightfully regarded as one of the best and most complete melodic hard rock albums from the eighties.

'Promise Land' has all the trademarks and virtues that made Giant something special; a strong flair for a catchy melody, great guitar leads and strong song writing. Original song writer Dann Huff has set his very strong mark on the album, even though he has only contributed with lead guitars on two songs, and the outcome is thirteen strong melodic hard rock songs with roots in classic and melodic hard rock.

From the original line-up only drummer David L. Huff and bass player Mike Brignardello remains and after a long and hard search they have been joined by vocalist Terry Brock (Strangeways, Seventh Key) and John Roth (Winger) in the renewed Giant. And this new line-up is delivering the goods...

Will 'Promise Land' spin off another Top 20 single? Possibly not, and not because there's no song as strong as "I'll See You in My Dreams", but simply because this kind of rock doesn't get the recognition it's used to. A real shame because this album is packed with first class hard rock, the production is well balanced and crystal clear and the deliverance is flawless.

The legacy lives on...


01. Believer (Redux) (4:35)
02. Promise Land (5:40)
03. Never Surrender (4:44)
04. Our Love (4:16)
05. Prisoner of Love (4:19)
06. Two Worlds (4:37)
07. Plenty of Love (4:42)
08. Through My Eyes (4:05)
09. Iíll Wait For You (4:44)
10. Dying To See You (3:58)
11. Double Trouble (4:29)
12. Complicated Man (3:13)
13. Save Me (3:44)

Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: February 3rd 2010