General Chaos
Calamity Circus
Style: Death thrash rock-ish
Release date: November 12th 2010
Playing time: 32:00

Not a typical Cyclone Empire release this one. Somehow more modern sounding than the releases we usually receive from the German label, General Chaos strikes a chord that fares well with this old hag. Death metal, perhaps even deathcore is part of the equation, but the basis is really just rocking, heavy music. Fans of Pantera and Entombed could do worse than try this.

These musicians are no spring chicks either. Two guitarists from Dew-Scented, a drummer from Such a Surge and Revolver, bass player from the latter. Singer Ercument is from the band Tephra which I've never heard of, but he's got a Phil Anselmo touch which is not a bad thing.

Worth checking out for fans of music that lies on the border of thrash, death and rock. Cool one!


01. Speech

02. Black Belt

03. Second to None
04. Trailer
05. Screen Berets
06. Kingsize Overdose
07. Calamity Circle
08. Swedeheart
09. Incessantly
10. Powder Monkey
11. Black as Disease

Label: Cyclone Empire
Promotion: Sure Shot Worx
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: November 17th 2010