First Signal (Featuring Harry Hess)
First Signal
Style: Melodic Rock
Release date: August 27th 2010

First Signal is a exciting new studio project featuring a collaboration between two of the scenes best known faces: Canadian singer Harry Hess (ex-Harem Scarem) and German producer/bass player Dennis Ward (Pink Cream 69, Khymera, Place Vendome etc.), and the blueprint for the album is the classic sound of Harry Hess' old band Harem Scarem, brought up to date with a few new twists and turns.

Harem Scarem went thru many phases throughout their twelve studio albums, but the main focus on this, First Signal's self-titled debut album lies on the more riff orientated sound and the songs have a lot of similarities with the material on the "Weight of the World" album, without ever being a plagiarism of old times.

To help recreate the glorious sound they've been working with a great collection of song writers, which includes Tom and James Martin (Khymera, Sunstorm, House of Lords), Erik Martensson (W.E.T., Eclipse), Ronny Milianowicz (Saint Deamon), Robert Sall (W.E.T., Work of Art) and Mark Baker (Signal, House of Lords), and the result is magical and timeless.

Harry Hess isn't the only former Harem Scarem member appearing on the album; Darren Smith contributes with some background vocals. Harry Hess' vocal performance is close to perfection for this kind of music, and the production by Dennis Ward is impeccable. This little piece of magic recreated is done by Dennis Ward on bass, Chris Schmidt on drums, Michael Klein on guitars and Eric Ragno on keyboards.

"First Signal" is a first class piece of melodic rock, and should hit the scene with a big bang. Simply put: "First Signal" is one the most complete and exciting melodic rock albums to see the light of day in a long time (together with the upcoming Terry Brock solo-album); two albums of the highest calibre to look forward to in August.

Great one!

01. This City (4:16)
02. When You Believe (4:06)
03. Part of Me (4:14)
04. Crazy (4:39)
05. Goodbye to the Good Time (4:41)
06. First Signal (4:22)
07. Feels Like Love This Time (4:49)
08. Into the Night (4:10)
09. When November Falls (4:31)
10. Yesterdays Rain (3:37)
11. Naked Desire (4:26)
Label: Frontiers Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: July 14th 2010
Website:  -