Evil One
Militia of Death
Style: Speed Metal/Heavy Metal
Release date: November 11th 2010
Playing time: 43:49

One year after their debut EVIL ONE again fly on. They rush on with this ‘Kill ‘em All’ feeling which is not outside their style. The opening eponymous track ‘Militia of Death’ has a lot of the early METALLICA.


EVIL ONE are not typical thrash metal band. In the beginning their album spreads in direction of the golden years of ANTHRAX. However the vocals of Alexis are too melodic and this makes the style of the band speed and even heavy metal. The guitar riff is aggressive but the melodic vocals bring the band into more conventional territories and form the more retro sound. Stepping more and more into heavy metal the album reaches the point with the ballad ‘Memories’ (sixth track). This song makes the transition from thrash to heavy complete. As if logical the next track is a cover song of ACCEPT. The regularly used ‘Fast as a Shark’ is interpreted indeed in a pleasant manner. At an analytical level the instrumental ‘Instrumental’ is an interesting mixture of speed metal riff, Mozart-solo and funky bass. However at a sensitive level it is not catchy with its music and looks like a music exercise.


Jeff Waters (ANNIHILATOR) and Betov (ADX) participate traditionally in the songs of this French band. The album 'Militia of Death' is not an exception. The ‘cover’ song of EVIL ONE themselves - ‘Militia of Beer’ which the band made with the presence of Gerre (TANKARD) is indeed rather cheerful. It is a pleasure to ears!


The French guys take their place somewhere in the cross point between NWOBHM and the regenerating thrash metal. Heavy and melodic, serious and playful they will touch you! If after the listening of the album they have stated you in at least three minutes long amok you will have the chance to hear a hidden track.


01. Militia of Death
02. Evil Invasion
03. In the Dead of the Night
04. Straight to Hell
05. Baptized by Fire
06. Memories
07. Fast as a Shark (Accept cover)
08. Suicide Fanatics
09. Instrumental
10. Militia of Beer

Label: Pervade Productions/Manitou Music
Promotion: Epiphora Productions
Distribution: Underclass
Artwork rating: 89/100
Reviewed by: Maria D. S.
Date: December 11th 2010
Website: www.myspace.com/evilonefrance