Style: Modern Metal
Release date: November 11th 2010
Playing time: 44:54

Niclas Engelin (Gardenian) and Marcus Sunesson (The Crown, The Haunted) teamed up to form this band. They recruited vocalist Magnus Klavborn, drummer Daniel Moilannen (who has already been replaced by Jimmy Olausson) and bassist Steve Drennan to record this album. Magnus is a good vocalist; he controls the harsh and growling vocals and the emotional clear ones.

Riffs based on Swedish metal in the vain of In Flames and Soilwork combined with lots of melody and keyboards that is what you can expect. Add some more modern Industrial influences and you have what Engel stands for. What I like is the contrast between the electronic kind of beats with some industrial sounds and the aggression and heaviness. Due to the very melodic approach and clear vocals it is a very accessible and nice record to listen to.

The best tracks are in my opinion the title track, which starts with a Zakk Wylde kind of opening riff and then differs in one of the more aggressive tracks and, I really dig ”Every Sin" because of the nice guitar riff in combination with the nice melody-line and clean parts. Good album if you like a combination of Swedish Metal and modern heavy metal with a lot of melody!


01. Six Feet Deep

02. Sense The Fire

03. For Those Who Will

04. Feed The Weak

05. To The End

06. Every Sin (Leaves A mark)

07. Down

08. Heartsick

09. Threnody

10. Burn

11. Perfect Isis

Label: Season of Mist
Distribution: Season of Mist
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: November 18th 2010
Website: www.myspace.com/engelmusic