Style: Heavy (power) metal
Release date: November 19th 2010
Playing time: 70:53

In February 2008 I reviewed their album 'Hymns to Steel', I wasn't really happy with it. When I saw that there was a new album coming up, I thought why not give it a try and give them a new chance! Due to musical differences Ivo Julmy quit the band and was replaced by Thomas Winkler. I don't know where he took his singing lessons (did he take lessons?), but especially when he tries to sing high pitched he sometimes sounds like a howling wolf with his foot in a cramp.

Compared to their 2007 album 'Hymn to Steel' they did not change a lot, they may have gotten a bit faster and heavier, but the songs are still not very original or strong. There are too many songs that would have been better if they'd quit after 4 minutes. The music is still very Maiden-like and a song like "Where's Your God" even reminds me of Savatage and in "Witches Tower" they introduce some King Diamond influences, but that won't save the day. If I want to listen to twin-guitars and melodic metal hymns I rather put on a Maiden album and I don't need some copy.

In my opinion these Swiss guys have not gotten much further with this album. Especially the high vocals of the new vocalist can be very irritating, in the lower parts he manages to sound a bit like a Rob Halford/Bruce Dickinson mix, but of course not that good. Fans of their earlier work will not get really disappointed with the new album, especially because it is a tad heavier.

I rather put on a Maiden album now.


01. The Wanderer (7:17)

02. The Last Legion (4:11)

03. Pipes Are Calling (6:01)

04. Where's Your God (6:38)

05. Alternation (4:38)

06. Secret Agenda (7:12)

07. The One (6:32)

08. Witches Tower (5:05)

09. Winterlude 1:39

10. Until My Winter Comes (3:35)

11. Mark Of the Beast (4:10)

12. Mutiny (9:07)

Label: Pure Steel Records
Distribution: Twilight
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: November 1st 2010
Website: www.myspace.com/emeraldch