Everything Remains (As It Never Was)
Style: Folk Metal
Release date: February 19th 2010

The pagan folk metal scene, or whatever you want to call it, started to catch on big-time several years ago. Bands such as Ensiferum, Korpiklaani, Finntroll, Turisas and Tyr, coming out of weird and faraway places such as the Faroe Islands.

With their fourth album, "Everything Remains As It Never Was," Swiss folk metal band Eluveitie (pronounced El-vay-Tee) continue to merge melodic death metal with folk influences. Pipes, whistles, violins, hurdy gurdies, soft female vocals mixed with gruff male vocals and heavy riffs, are all used to create the magic of Eluveitie. What else is fascinating about the band is their use of Gaulish, an extinct language that has showed up on Eluveitie's past albums.

It takes some time for the album to get going. First track "Otherworld" begins with a little girl's voice, but trudges along tediously for almost two minutes. But when the title track finally kicks in, you're introduced to the unique sound that is Eluveitie.

"Thousandfold," "Nil" and "Kingdom Come Undone" are heavy and melodic, utilizing their use of unusual instruments.

Their metal influences are present throughout the 13 tracks on "Everything Remains As It Never Was," but their melodic Celtic side is displayed as well.

The perfect melding of metal and Celtic influences puts Eluveitie above the rest in the genre. I believe this album as a whole, has something to offer for all music fans.

Give it a chance and see for yourself.

01. Otherworld
02. Everything Remains (As It Never Was)
03. Thousandfold
04. Nil
05. The Essence Of The Ashes
06. Isara
07. Kingdom Come Undone
08. Quoth The Raven
09. (Do)Minion
10. Setlon
11. Sempiternal Embers
12. Lugdunon
13. The Liminal Passage
Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Distribution: Nuclear Blast Records
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: April 29th 2010
Website: www.eluveitie.ch