Distant Past
Alpha Draconis
Style: Progressive/Melodic Metal
Release date: June 6th 2010

Swiss progressive/melodic heavy metal band Distant Past are on their third full-length release, Alpha Draconis. They have a cool sound but is hard to pinpoint or compare exactly who they sound like. But their influences run deep with classic metal, í70s progressive rock, NWOBHM and í80s metal. There are progressive parts, spacey parts and thrashy parts. Itís a well-blended concoction of all the great components of hard rock and metal. Thereís elements of IRON MAIDEN, HAWKWIND and THIN LIZZY thrown together, while still remaining fresh and creative enough to not be a clone of any of their influences.

The mastermind, driving force and producer behind Distant Past is Adriano Troiano (bass, vocals), who formed the band in 2003.

Thereís a science fiction concept that runs through Alpha Draconis with its lyrics, song titles and cover art. The music is not overly technical or difficult, except maybe for some the guitar solos.

Opening track "Elemental Forces" is a good enough song, except the chorus gets repetitive and annoying. Itís a heavy song with some good tempo changes. "The New Lordship" opens with some cool bass leads and some MAIDEN progression. "Spare My Life" has a MAIDEN "Remember Tomorrow" overtone to it. The guitar leads on "Demolition" are so well- layered and very similar to Steve Howe of Yes, that it definitely cements their í70s progressive rock influences.

My gripes are that some of the choruses are too repetitive and are not interesting enough. Theyíre memorable, just in an annoying way, and not very creative or clever.

Because DISTANT PAST are an unsigned band and they donít have proper distribution, they will probably unfortunately be buried in obscurity.

Which is a shame, because they have a lot to offer and I hope this albumís greatness spreads to more global metalheads.

01. Elemental Forces
02. The New Lordship
03. Single Warning
04. The Interrogation
05. The Powers That Be
06. Demolition
07. Trial & Error
08. Refuse to be Denied
09. Spare my Life
10. Lost Colonies
11. The Serpent with the Double-Edged Tongue
Label: Unsigned
Promotion: Pure Steel Records
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: August 9th 2010
Website: www.distant-past.ch