Diabulus In Musica
Style: Symphonic Gothic Metal
Release date: May 24th 2010

Symphonic gothic metal with female vocals from Spain. After the intro, the song "Come To Paradise" starts rather up-tempo and a few seconds after the angelic vocals of Zuberoa Aznárez begins, we also hear the aggressive screams/grunts done by Adrián M. Vallejo. These aggressive vocals appear in several songs and that makes DIM a tad heavier than for example a band like Nightwish, Within Temptation or Edenbridge.

They fill the gap between Nightwish and Epica; not as soft as Nightwish and not as heavy and fast as Epica. The songs are very variable and have good arrangements. The band collaborated with several classical musicians; a soprano called Maite Itoiz, the tenor Ariel Hernandez (Spanish National Choir), a violist and a lot more. This gives their music more depth and atmosphere. The nicest part about their music is the variation between symphonic softer parts and heavier and faster parts. Sometimes even on black-metal speed, like in the song "Beyond Infinity". The beautiful serene piano song "Lonely Soul" will be a nice resting point for the rest of the band during live shows.

All in all, these Spanish succeeded in making a record that can easily compete with most of the bands in this genre. Perhaps they did not quite reach the same level as Epica or Nightwish yet, but I am certain that they will soon. I am already looking forward in seeing them live at Dokkem Open Air. I did a review of the band Magion last week; this Diabulus In Musica is as good, therefore the same rating.


01. Renaissance

02. Come To Paradise

03. Nocturnal Flowers

04. Evolution's Whim

05. New Era

06. Lies In Your Eyes

07. Lonely Soul

08. The Seventh Gate

09. Ishtar

10. Under The Shadow (Of A Butterfly)

11. Beyond Infinity

12. The Forest Of Ashes

13. St. Michael's Nightmare

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: May 18th 2010
Website: www.myspace.com/diabulusinmusicaband