New Era Pt. 3 - The Apocalypse
Style: Symphonic Power Metal
Release date: March 2nd 2010

When you put on a symphonic power metal album from Italy then you know what to expect; fast guitar runs, fast pounding drums, big keyboard orchestrations, huge choirs and a high pitched vocalist with a slight accent. And Derdian delivers on all fronts and they rarely strays away from path laid out by the big ones in the genre.

"New Era Pt. 3 - The Apocalypse" is the conclusion of a trilogy, which began in 2005. The second part followed in 2007 and now they've come to the end of story and if you are looking for an injection of fast power metal with many layers of keyboards like we used to get on a regular basis some years ago from the likes of Rhapsody, Majestic, Dragonland and Skylark then look no further, because this has all the trademarks and virtues in bundles.

I do think there are a few glitches; the production could be better, the keyboards are too dominant and they need to leave the safe confines of the style more. Best moments are actually when they strays a bit away from the path; "Black Rose", a fine rock anthem and my favourite "Forevermore", where they are joined by female vocalist Lisy Stefanoni (Evenoire), a nice slow almost semi-ballad with some cool keyboard parts and good melodic guitar parts.

A respectable and solid effort never-the-less that will bring much joy for fans of the above mentioned bands.

01. Preludio (1:45)
02. The Spell (5:58)
03. Battleplan (5:04)
04. Black Rose (4:25)
05. Her Spirit Will Fly Again (5:40)
06. Dreams (5:11)
07. Divine Embrace (5:22)
08. The Prophecy (4:53)
09. Burn (4:54)
10. Forevermore (6:18)
11. Revolt 6:20)
12. Presagio (2:32)
13. The Apocalypse (6:28)
Label: Magna Carta
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: June 26th 2010