Dark Order
Cold War of the Condor
Style: Thrash
Release date: August 20th 2010
Playing time: 86:00

Australian thrashers Dark Order have embarked on an ambitious journey with 'Cold War of the Condor'. In 86 minutes, the four-piece take us through the bloody history of the dictator Augusto Pinochet who held Chilé in his iron fist from 1974 to 1990 and killed god knows how many thousands of his countrymen in the process.

I love the idea of using music as a history book. For several reasons. The main two reasons being that a. there are so many fascinating stories that deserve to be told and b. for those who are less educated or from the outset interested, this is a different way to learn some history. If I'm to conclude anything from the names of the members of Dark Order, I'd say that there's definitely a South American connection of sorts, and thus another incentive to tell the story?

As for the music, this is an album that ought to be interesting for any fan of old-school thrash of the Bay Area kind. The names floating in my head are Forbidden, Exodus, Vio-lence, to some extent Death Angel and then add a wee bit of Slayer. Singer Raul has a characteristic voice that it took me a few spins to get used to, but now it works for me. I'm not sure about the quality of the ballady piece A Lament for Victor Jara (Requiem Eternal is in my view by far the better quiet piece), whereas thrash hymns like State of Siege, Villa Grimaldi and Blood Fire hit right home.

All in all recommended listening!


01. September 11th 1973

02. Dissension of the Raptor

03. State of Siege
04. A Lament for Victor Jara
05. Tears of the Exiled
06. Caravan of Death
07. Villa Grimaldi
08. Operation Condor
09. The Disappeared
10. Operacion Siglo Veinte
11. Criminal of State
12. Blood Fire
13. Continuum of Cold Ware
14. Requiem Eternal

Label: Battlegod Productions
Promotion: Sure Shot Worx
Artwork rating: 60/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: November 17th 2010
Website: www.darkorder.com.au