Julien Damotte
Style: Progressive Metal
Release date: March 9th 2010

'Trapped' is a very ambitious progressive metal album composed by Parisian Julien Damotte. His musical child has been some years in the making; he began recording the first demos back in 2004, and now finally 6 years later his this take on progressive metal sees the light of day.

Julien Damotte is giving us a very personal insight in the inner struggles he is going through; 'Trapped' is an autobiographical concept album. Like in life the music is full of diversity, contrasts and dark and light; from smooth and delicate melodies to the dark and gloomy passages. Life is a roller coaster ride with many ups and downs, highlights and dark moments; and the music is a reflection of world of Julien Damotte.

Dealing with serious topics like death ("Death"), illness ("The Inner Struggle"), introspection ("What You've Been Through"), violence ("The Voice within Your Soul") and love ("Eternal Love") he covers many aspects of life, and the music covers many aspects of progressive metal to reflect those things. Inspiration sources are varied and many; Symphony X, Adagio and Control Denied rears their ugly heads the most.

Julien Damotte has written everything, has produced and mixed the album, and is singing, playing guitars and bass on the album, but has thankfully been wise enough to know his limitations. Main vocalist is Gus Monsanto (Revolution Renaissance, ex-Adagio), Nach (Awacks) is handling the keyboards, the grunts are taken care of by Matt Haussey (Madonagun), Buzz (Tubular Brain) is also contributing in the vocal department, the female touch is done by Maya and finally there some guitar leads by Mattias IA Eklundh (Freak Kitchen) and Christophe Godin.

Julien Damotte is clearly a very talented guitarist and song writer, and even the production lives up to the standard expected and with 'Trapped' he shows that it is possible to create exciting and skilful progressive metal without the support of a label. 'Trapped' is a very good debut album and a strong cornerstone for Julien Damotte to build on...


01. Born Dead (1:20)
02. Opening Chapter (4:46)
03. The Voice within Your Soul (5:27)
04. Eternal Love (6:03)
05. The Inner Struggle (3:57)
06. What You've Been Through (5:09)
07. Dying (5:54)
08. Death (5:45)
09. Ending Chapter (12:11)

Label: Self released
Distribution: www.juliendamotte.com
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: February 7th 2010
Website: www.myspace.com/damotte