Cyril Achard
Style: Instrumental / Shred
Release date: March 19th 2010

Reviewing an instrumental record every now and then isn't such a problem, some variety is always welcome. Most difficult for me is to listen to it from start to finish. After 3 songs I really miss the vocals and it gets a bit boring. Cyril Achard is a good guitar player and there is nothing wrong with his Steve Lukather-ish style with a heavy touch.

The song "Saint Hetfield" can give you the idea that this is a song in Metallica style, but it is far from that. It is perhaps a little heavier than the lot, but Metallica Expect rather simple, straight rock songs with many guitar solos. What really speaks for Cyril is that he has tried to write complete songs and not just pieces of music with virtuoso guitar in it.

In my opinion this is a record for (advanced) guitar players who are looking for another instrumental to play along with and of course for guitar lovers in general. The songs Cyril wrote, lack something to really shine and they are not strong enough to compensate the missing vocals. Interested readers listen to it first.


01. Brutalize

02. Saint Hetfield

03. All Or Nothing

04. It's a Gloomy Day

05. Violencia

06. Sweet And Furios

07. Strong Hearted

08. I Don't Believe

Label: Lion Music
Distribution: Border Music Distribution AB
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: March 9th 2010