Crystal Viper
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: October 22nd 2010
Playing time: 46:45

CRYSTAL VIPER are trying to sweep away the metal fans. Their releases submerge us at intervals of several months. Well performed guitar-orientated classic heavy metal with female vocals but sang in an aggressive way without the known effect of the gothic singers.


In fact the Polish are rather straight-forwarded. They will not surprise their old fans. I should even say that because of their engagements they do not have the time for development.  Musically the new album is again a true metal in the veins of RUNNING WILD, GRAVE DIGGER and at places you can catch rock ‘n’ roll melodies from the JUDAS PRIEST type (the fourth and the ninth song).


‘Legends’ is based on the Polish epos but the lyrics are not so particular. The legends served as an inspiration for the fascinating choruses and nothing more. The stylistics of the album artwork is orientated to be as an illustration of a book and it is less effective in comparison to the other releases of the band.


The songs are frequently galloping and they will not leave you without good mood. In the recordings of ‘Legends’ took part a whole galaxy of significant to the heavy metal scene names. However they did not contributed essentially to the quality of the album. I mean that CRYSTAL VIPER are able to do this alone. The ballad ‘Sydonia Bork’ is a little bit disappointing: the medieval melody sharply turns to a pop melody in the style of ‘Titanic’ and when the riff retrieves the situation it quietens down again and leaves no strong impression. The heavy and slow ‘Secret of the Black Water’ runs in rather low tones and at places the voice of Marta fails her. The ACCEPT cover is vital, but it does not shines.


The new label gives wings to the band. The producer provided the participation of strong guest musicians which suggests a consolidated heavy metal community. But in reference to the quality of the compositions CRYSTAL VIPER tread on one and the same place. I expected and I still expect a thrilling new level in the development of this band.


01. The Truth
02. Ghost Ship
03. Blood of The Heroes
04. The Greed Is Blind
05. Sydonia Bork
06. Goddess Of Death
07. Night of the Sin
08. Secrets of The Black Water
09. Man of Stone
10. Black Leviathan
11. TV War (Accept cover)

Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 55/100
Reviewed by: Maria D. S.
Date: October 27th 2010