Fabula Magna
Style: Symphonic Metal
Release date: December 18th 2009

’Fabula Magna’ is the title of the third full-length album by the German symphonic metal band CORONATUS.


I’ve only read good things about this release so far and I do dig this album, however I’m a little disappointed at the same time. Everything is well-written and well-produced and the two female singers are doing a great job, but I’m still left a bit disappointed with the song writing.


We get 12 tracks and only 4 of them are superb in my humble opinion. The very heavy “Wolfstanz”, the bubbling “Flying By Alone”, the great “Kristallklares Wasser” and my personal favourite “Der Letzte Tanz” are all top notch songs that really shows that this band have the potential to make it out there.


The rest of the songs are all on the exact same level to me and do need several listens to blossom. Not that I dislike the songs... no, no... they just seem to pale a bit compared to the above mentioned songs.


Well... all in all a solid album. There is still room for improvement but I’m sure that this band will join the premier league of female fronted symphonic metal very soon.


Check it out.


01. Preface

02. Geisterkirche

03. Tantalos

04. Wolfstanz

05. Der Fluch

06. Flying By Alone

07. Kristallklares Wasser

08. How Far Would You Go

09. Der Letzte Tanz

10. Est Carmen

11. Blind

12. Josy

Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target Denmark
Artwork rating: 60/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: January 19th 2010