No Mercy
Style: Power Metal
Release date: February 26th 2010

US power metal band Commandment were one of Chicago's premier bands from 1986 to 1990. Their 1987 debut, "Engraved in Stone," reached cult status. The band were set to release album No. 2, but their label went bankrupt, thus shelving the recording, and the band ultimately split up in 1990. 20 years later, Pure Steel Records has released "No Mercy," including a limited vinyl pressing. Five additional (hidden) tracks are included on the CD, along with the nine unreleased tracks from that 1989 demo- era.

The high-pitched falsetto vocals of the late David Nava is the reason why I've always loved bands like Commandment, because of their similarity to Agent Steel, early Fates Warning, Liege Lord and Crimson Glory.

On "No Mercy," the band creates crushing riffs, soaring guitar solos, prominent bass lines and solid drumming. But it's those awesome pipes of Nava that stars on "No Mercy." The production on the CD is somewhat weak, but that's probably because it was recorded 20 years ago before the whole ProTools craze. I bet the vinyl version shows its true power, the way it was meant to be for that time period. "No Mercy" reminds me of the old Metal Massacre records of the '80s that I fell in love with.

"Corrupted Youth," "Road to No Where" and "Voice of the Spynx" are the true essence of the sound of '80s power metal. Guitarist John Remesnik gets to show off his solo shredding skills on track four, simply titled, "Guitar Solo." Of the five additional tracks, "Fire when Ready," "Ivory Tower" and "On the Attack," really stand out.

This is US power metal at its finest. For the fans who remember the greatness of Commandment, they will definitely eat this up. The band is currently working on new material and until it sees the light of day, "No Mercy" should be just what the metal doctor ordered.

01. Corrupted Youth (2:48)
02. Betrayed (3:19)
03. Road to Nowhere (4:24)
04. Guitar Solo (0:52)
05. The Cell (4:38)
06. No Mercy (4:33)
07. Holding On (3:40)
08. Kamikaze (3:45)
09. Voice of the Sphynx (3:21)
10. Law of the Streets (Hidden Track) (2:52)
11. Fire when Ready (Hidden Track) (2:57)
12. Ivory Tower (Hidden Track) (3:38)
13. Tears of Remembrance (Hidden Track) (6:14)
14. On the Attack (Hidden Track) (4:18)
Label: Pure Steel Records
Distribution: Twiligth
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: February 3rd 2010
Website: Commandment @ MySpace