Carach Angren
Death Came Through a Phantom Ship
Style: Symphonic Black Metal
Release date: February 26th 2010

Symphonic Black Metal from Holland. After their debut 'Lammendam' they release this concept album, reporting a ghastly saga of naval terror and elemental fright - the grizzly story behind the Flying Dutchman... After the atmospheric intro the bombastic and heavy music breaks loose. Of course there are some similarities with Dimmu Borgir and the spoken parts have some Cradle of Filth over them, but there are big differences too. In general they sound more intense and complex.


Carach Angren sounds less overproduced and with the bombastic, orchestral, epic and even opera-kind of passages they sound a bit soundtrack-like at times. The aggressive grunts are quite understandable and they create a perfect mix between the guitars and the violin/keyboard. The songs see to it that the concept story is expressed very well. In my opinion they created a kind of 'Operation Mindcrime' black metal style. With the lyrics in one hand and the headphone on your head you have to experience this adventure. I stop writing about it, so you can go and buy it!


I am certain this will be one of the best symphonic black albums this year, as of now it is the best so far!


01. Electronic Voice Phenomena

02. The Sighting is a Portent of Doom

03. And the Consequence Macabre

04. Van der Decken's Triumph

05. Bloodstains On the Captain's Log

06. Al Betekent het Mijn Dood

07. Departure Towards a Nautical Curse

08. The Course of a Spectral Ship

09. The Shining Was a Portent of Gloom

Label: Maddening Media
Distribution: Maddening Media
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: March 10th 2010