Style: Black Metal
Release date: March 8th 2010

It is difficult not to sense a symbolic behind Belus, if one thinks of Belus serving as an impersonation of Varg Vikernes, Belus -  Balder in its original form - known as betrayed, killed, and now restored. This is indeed the album by which Burzum will come into the light again, as this is the best release since the legendary Filosofem from 1996.

Belus takes us on a quest through the dark, through battles against exterior forces, which will make one stronger at the end. Belus sometimes gives me a run-for-your-life feeling as if a preservation instinct in the music, which is quite inspirational.

The sound is clearer than earlier without losing its fuziness: I can still imagine hatching drawings filling a canvas while travelling with Belus.
The voice's shrieking characteristic has been abandoned, which makes it more common but not less interesting. This change reminds me how great Bergen's dialect fits this kind of metal.
One can concentrate on the mood vehiculated by the music on another level, since the voice is less predominant than before. This is also made possible by the fact that it is almost exclusively guitars that build the thread and bear the whole; they have got stronger and are a sign of a new progression.

It is unnecessary to make clear that none element put on the Belus tape is thoughtless, which is Burzum's trademark.
The general mood, not as bloodless as Filosofem or Hvis lyset tar oss, presents a milder, softer side of the author, with a honesty that shines through.

As goes for all good black (ambient) metal, a record of the sort will not necessary give you something new to think about musically; on the other side, it will fullfill your mind time after time. Burzum is the proper definition of this kind of metal, and the historical Belus it gives the dying genre a contribution that will surely stand the test of time.

Probably one of the year's best investments. Belus litterally announces a new spring that would be a shame to let escape from one's grasp.


01. Leukes Renkespill (Introduksjon)
02. Belus' Død
03. Glemselens Elv
04. Kaimadalthas' Nedstigning
05. Sverddans
06. Keliohesten
07. Morgenrøde
08. Belus' Tilbakekomst (Konklusjon)

Label: Byelobog
Distribution: Plastic Head
Artwork rating: 80/100
Reviewed by: LyM
Date: April 1st 2010
Website: www.burzum.org