Burning Shadows
Into the Primordial
Style: Traditional/Power Metal
Release date: January 26th 2008

Burning Shadows play US power metal with touches of Euro power metal and traditional metal.

Formed in 2000 in Rockville, Maryland, the band has endured numerous lineup changes in its existence. They've had bad luck with drummers, and now find themselves in search for yet another skinsman, their fifth overall.

Burning Shadows debut full-length "Into the Primordial" was originally recorded in 2006, but due to studio problems, the band suffered through a year-long hiatus from finishing it, and it finally saw the light of day in 2008. Musically, Burning Shadows are heavily influenced by Iced Earth, Judas Priest and Iron Maiden, and they play their instruments extremely well. However, vocally, Burning Shadows' style is left to be said. Most of the time the vocals are off-key, throwing off the rhythm of the music. Other times they are mixed with a raspier evil sounding voice, which sounds cool.

"Into the Primordial" abuses the word "epic." All of the 10 tracks run anywhere from 5 to almost 9 minutes, except for the instrumental "Evenfall," which is 2:40. This being said, some of the songs overstay their welcome. The riffs and time changes are good, but somewhat basic and not memorable enough. There's some excellent guitar leads and tasteful drum fills. Lyrically, the storytelling is typical power metal fare, but interesting enough, mostly songs about fantasy, warriors and warfare. Track 8, "Sarnath," gets a definitive "horns up"for it's awesomeness at the 5:42 mark.

I really want to like this CD, but certain sections of songs where the vocals are off-key or out of range just ruins it for me. Sorry, but that is what drags this band and CD down.

Fans of traditional/power metal will possibly dig this, but just don't expect it to stay in your CD player for too long. It's a decent effort for a debut, but Burning Shadows need to condense their songs, get a different singer, and concentrate on their songwriting.

01. Second Son
02. Haunter of the Dark
03. Into the Primordial
04. Wings Over Asgard
05. Supernatural Warfare
06. Evenfall
07. New Dawn Arise
08. Sarnath
09. Forest of the Dead (Bonus)
10. Whisper Suffering (Bonus)
Label: Independent
Reviewed by: Kelley Simms
Date: April 10th 2010
Website: www.burningshadows.com