Burden of Grief
Follow the Flames
Style: Melodic thrash/death-metalcore
Release date: June 25th 2010

German band Burden of Grief releases its 5th album within a few days. With this album they go all the way. Produced by Dan Swano, cover artwork by Gustavo Saves (Arch Enemy, God Forbid), several guest appearances (Dan Swano, Gerre and Sabina Classen) and as a bonus a CD with 8 cover songs with songs of Iron Maiden, Metallica, The Doors, Pantera, Whitesnake, Sepultura, AC/DC and Blind Guardian.

The 10 own songs are all tracks where thrash, death and metalcore go hand in hand. Mike Huhmann's vocals are aggressive metalcore screams combined with very raw thrash vocals. The songs have a kind of groove in them and the combination with melodic twin-guitars give the songs the necessary variation. They even use a Hammond Organ. With Dan behind the buttons there is of course nothing wrong with the production part of the album. The songs are packed full of thrash riffs and I think that it can be liked by thrash, metalcore and melodic death fans.

With the extra bonus CD included, the new Burden of Grief album 'Follow the Flames' is a good investment; 18 songs for about 15 Euro is a bargain. Take a listen and I think you will make the right decision.


01. Ignition (intro)

02. Follow the Flames

03. Born In Fire

04. The Arms of Death

05. Disruption of a Confused Mind

06. Doomed To Fail

07. No Way Out

08. Mirror of Truth

09. Burning Red Eyes

10. Fallen

11. Rise Like a Phoenix


Bonus CD

01. Aces High

02. The Four Horsemen

03. Break On Through

04. Mouth For War

05. Fool For Your Loving

06. Refuse/Resist

07. Hell Ain't s Bad Place to Be

08. Valhalla

Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: June 23rd 2010
Website: www.myspace.com/burdenofgrief1