The Wicked Symphony
Style: Epic Power Metal
Release date: April 3rd 2010

It has been two years since Tobias Sammet released 'The Scarecrow'. Not suffering from any writer's block he has managed to write two successors. One of the two is "The Wicked Symphony". Tobias still uses the same model as Arjen Lucassen does with Ayreon. You write a couple of songs and you are going to search for the singer that fit that song the best. And I have to admit that Tobias has done very well in that department.

This album opens with the very long title-track with the powerful vocals of Jorn Lande and Russell Allen. It is a classical heavy song with a catchy refrain. The next song is one of my favourites and I am glad that Tobias could convince Michael Kiske to do the vocals. I think it is a waste that Michael doesn't do power metal anymore. "Wastelands" must be the best Helloween track not written by Helloween.

After that the heaviest track "Scales of Justice" with Tim 'Ripper' Owen is on the menu. With "Dying for an Angel" there is a welcome resting point. Tobias has invited Klaus Meine for that song and with him on vocals; the song has the potential to hit the charts. Andre Matos takes care of the leading part in the song "Blizzard on a Broken Mirror" and Bob Catley was invited for the song "Runaway Train". Together with Jorn Lande and Michael Kiske they make it a hell of a song.

Other musicians helping out on this record are: Sascha Paeth (guitar), Bruce Kulick (guitar) and Eric Singer (drums). I still don't know which of the two new albums I like better. This one has Klaus Meine and more Michael Kiske, the other Jon Oliva..... I can't make up my mind. I think it must be a draw then.


01. The Wicked Symphony

02. Wastelands

03. Scales Of Justice

04. Dying For An Angel

05. Blizzard On A Broken Mirror

06. Runaway Train

07. Crestfallen

08. Forever is a Long Time

09. Black Wings

10. States of Matter

11. The Edge

Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Distribution: Nuclear Blast Records
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: April 30th 2010
Website: www.myspace.com/tobiassammet