Angel Of Babylon
Style: Epic Power Metal
Release date: April 3rd 2010

"Angel of Babylon" is part 2, (or is this part 1 and "The Wicked Symphony" part 2?) of Tobias Sammet's rock operas. Like on "The Wicked Symphony", this album opens with a long epic track - with Jorn Lande, Russell Allen and Michael Kiske on vocals, nothing really can go wrong. The title-track has an overwhelming keyboard solo executed by Jens Johansson and is an Avantasia song all the way.  "Your Love is Evil" is a decent rock-song, nothing more nothing less.

The highlight on this album is the track "Death is Just a Feeling"; John Oliva gives this theatrical song a very creepy atmosphere. On a lot of the other tracks the vocals are divided between Jorn Lande and Tobias, and like on the other album, some of the drums are done by Eric Singer. On a lot of other tracks, Alex Holzwarth is responsible for the drumming. On "Symphony of Life" we find female vocals of Cloudy Yang - her vocals combined with the heavy riffs give it a Within Temptation/Evanescence kind of touch.

After the bluesy track "Alone I Remember" and the heavy rocker "Promised Land" we get a very nice finale; "Journey to Arcadia" is a film'ish, musical kind of track with choirs and vocals divided between Bob Catley, Jorn Lande and Tobias. An impressive ending of an album with very variable musical pieces. Is this album better than the other one? No, both are of a high standard and it is a matter of taste, which one you like most. I could not make a decision yet, it is indeed a draw.


01. Stargazers

02. Angel Of Babylon

03. Your Love is Evil

04. Death is Just a Feeling

05. Rat Race

06. Down in the Dark

07. Blowing Out the Flame

08. Symphony of Life

09. Alone I Remember

10. Promised Land

11. Journey To Arcadia

Label: Nuclear Blast Records
Distribution: Nuclear Blast Records
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: April 30th 2010
Website: www.myspace.com/tobiassammet