After the Storm
Style: Ethno Metal
Release date: August 3rd 2010

I have much respect for Alex Krull and Atrocity. Few metal bands have dared change as much over the years as they have. Death, gothic, pop, rock, 80's covers, you name it, they've been there.

Atrocity has decided that it's time to get the incense sticks and a pot of tea out. Alex has drafted his sister, Yasmin, and thrown a bunch of oriental sounds into the game. Yes, you will find bongo drums here!

The 'metal' in Ethno Metal isn't actually that audible anywhere on the platter. The song Transilvania is the most metal induced piece, The Other World has a bit too, other than that, it's all very Zen and one with the earth. Zitars, flutes, acoustic guitars and stuff, you catch the drift.

It's alright. It's not fantastic. Not at all. The element of surprise is on Atrocity's side at first, but it soon wears off and the tunes become a tad boring - especially when you've listened to the album a few times.

Nice try, but it doesn't really give me the goosebump I'd be needing to give this a high grade.


01. A New Arrival (3:42)
02. Call Of Yesteryear (3:27)
03. After The Storm (2:47)
04. Silvan Spirit (3:33)
05. Black Mountain (5:32)
06. As The Sun Kissed The Sky (3:15)
07. Transilvania (3:27)
08. The Flight Of Abbas Ibn Firnas (1:59)
09. Goddess Of Fortune And Sorrow (4:42)
10. The Otherworld (5:27)
11. Eternal Nightside (4:38)

Label: Napalm Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Artwork rating: 70/100
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: September 5th 2010