Style: Thrash Metal/Power Metal
Release date: September 17th 2010

They like to call their music Symbionic Metal, and it is surely a symbiosis of many styles with thrash metal and power metal taking the leading seats. Power, melody, atmosphere and aggressiveness are all adjectives that fit this new star on the German metal scene; Athorn.

Their self released EP surely made a stir in the scene, and gained a lot of well deserved recognition both within the German borders as well as abroad. But I am sure not many had expected this, their debut album, to be so complete! "Phobia" is one the strongest and most complete debut albums I've heard in a while, and their mixture of styles appeal to so many that I am sure they will find fans all over the spectre.

Imagine a perfect blend between Nevermore and Iced Earth peppered with some death metal as well as Iron Maiden influences and you might have an idea of what to expect. But they do add more facets to their music and I suggest you dig in and make up your own mind, because this is one the albums you shouldn't miss out on this year.

Carsten Frank (Ex-Galloglass, Human Fortress) proves that he is one of the most versatile vocalist's on the German scene, and his interpretation of the songs is near perfect, and combined with the excellent guitar work we have a match made in heaven. So if you are looking for an energetic, versatile and powerful piece of metal then I suggest you give this album a chance... it might blow your socks off!

Try out: "Angel of the Fall", "Humanize the Demon", "The Ferryman" & "Schizophrenia".

01. Angel of the Fall (4:30)
02. Emperor of Ruins (4:40)
03. Humanize the Demon (5:34)
04. Phobia - Prologue (2:51)
05. Phobia (5:48)
06. After the End (4:37)
07. A Matter of Time (4:12)
08. From Beyond (4:53)
09. The Ferryman (5:25)
10. Schizophrenia (7:29)
Label: AFM Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: August 14th 2010