The Reckoning
Style: Death/Thrash Metal
Release date: March 22nd 2010

Arise... Somewhere in my collection on a dusty shelf I found their 2005 album: 'The Beautiful New World'. I could remember that it was not bad, but not a hammer either. It's been some time since I listened to it the last time, so I blew the dust away and put it in my CD-player. As a reviewer you have to listen to new stuff, but often to the older albums too, so you can compare the style and the musical changes.

I have to conclude that things haven't changed a lot since 2005; perhaps the new album is a bit heavier and more aggressive. 'The Reckoning' is a natural successor and they stuck to their thrashy Gothenburg style. I must confess that after a few songs I get a bit bored. There are no surprises whatsoever, the song structures are simple and the songs lack variation. I heard this many, many times before and Arise adds nothing to it. Not that Arise doesn't play well, or that this record totally sucks, but it is too average and without any challenge.

If you totally worship In Flames (Whoracle period) or Dew Scented, you should check this out for certain, but if you want something inspiring or you have had it with the Gothenburg sound, look for something else.


01. Adrenaline Rush

02. No Memory of Light

03. Blindead

04. They Are Coming For You

05. Pitch Black

06. The Reckoning

07. Reclaiming the Soul

08. The Fury

09. Dead Silence

10. End Of Days

Label: Regain Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: February 26th 2010