A Lapdance for the Devil
Style: Powerful Metal
Release date: February 1st 2010

This is the best debut-album of 2010 so far! Which is of course quite obvious because the year only just started! But no kidding, for a debut the band does a good and very mature job. The music is heavy, melodic, catchy and the songs are very well arranged. You can hear that the band did not start just yesterday; their first steps were already taken back in 1996. Through the years they were able to write the ten songs that now grace their debut.


The powerful songs with some thrashy influences listens away very easy and the singing of Lars Frederiksen fit it like a glove. The song "Lonely Ride" can be described as a good summary of the different styles used by the band; melody, some aggressive screaming vocals, fast thrashy parts and excellent clean vocals, all packed in one track. You could take this song as a kind of blue-print for the rest of the album and if you like it, you will like the complete album.


At first the album will only be released in their home-country Denmark, but of course you can order it on-line. I am not a person with a lot of good intentions at every beginning of a new year, because I can't stick to them anyway. But I hope that our readers will have the intention to give metal bands the chance to survive, by buying their albums instead of downloading them illegally. Otherwise there will be no (smaller) record labels left and in the end also no bands.


Anoxia is in my opinion one of the bands that deserves to survive.


So, buy it, don't steal it!


01. Cold Violence

02. Lapdance for the Devil

03. Risky on the Rocks

04. Lonely Ride

05. Beyond the Line

06. The Tale of Jimi and Janis

07. Flowers on my Grave

08. My Prison

09. The Expected

10. Hell Bent for Heaven

Label: Mighty Music
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: January 6th 2010
Website: Anoxia @ MySpace