Enter the Killzone
Style: Death Metal/Grindcore
Release date: February 26th 2010

German band Anima (Latin for soul) is back with the follow-up of 'The Daily Grind'. There has not been a big style-change, so if you came on that one, you will ejaculate on the new record too. Brutal grinding (technical)-death-metal with grunts, squeals and tight riffs.

I think this record is even more brutal and heavier than 'The Daily Grind'. The complex rattling drums in combination with the rhythm-changes and the technical skills don't make this an easy-listening album. You have to be rather open-minded to like it. Personally I am not a very huge fan of grindcore and for that I like the death parts more, but without these grinding pieces the band would not be Anima anymore. A big advantage for them is the sound of the album; Sebastian Reichl (Deadlock) has created an extremely HEAVY sound and when you play this kind of music that's a must. The only track that differs a lot from the bunch is "XXXIII" - a kind of epic track with choir singing and violins (sampled), but definitely pure Anima.

'Enter the Killzone' takes off where 'The Daily Grind' stopped, so no surprises, but fuckin' brutal!


01. Intro

02. Incarceration

03. Loner's Reflection

04. Cu(nt) & Twist

05. The Man Eater

06. Carnage Provoked

07. Black Night

08. The Omnipotent Torture King

09. Welcome to Our Killzone

10. Necromantica

11. I Am Sick I Want to Kill


Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by:

Reinier de Vries

Date: February 21st 2010