Birds of Prey
Style: Heavy Metal
Release date: November 19th 2010
Playing time: 39:07

Freddy Alexis (vocals) hails from Chile, together with Gabriel Hidalgo he wrote the songs for this album. Chile is of course more famous for their mineworkers than metal acts, but perhaps you know Mr. Alexis from a band called Witchblade. The bonus stuff on this album is songs from that period.

The artwork looks very professional and the sound of the music is o.k. Most of the songs remind me of Judas Priest (just listen to "Metalizer II") and Iced Earth; in the song "Breaking the Spell" we even get some gothic. Alexis is not the best singer in the genre, especially in "Birds of Prey" he sometimes misses a bend. I hear you thinking: Judas Priest and Iced Earth, it must be good then. Unfortunately the songs are not very exciting and interesting; they for sure are not the same calibre as those 2 bands I mentioned. Nevertheless there are enough parts that make this album listenable and not totally a waste of money. I don't know the level of other bands in Chile, but perhaps they are one of the better bands at home. For most parts, the bonus songs on an album are not that strong, but here they are at least the same level and I like them even more.... Maybe they should change the name back to Witchblade?

Compared with European and American bands Alexis is an average band that will not shine among the other releases and I'm afraid that they will get lost in the overcrowded market.


01. Intro

02. Shadows

03. Golden Path

04. Friendly Fire

05. Birds of Prey

06. Breaking the Spell

07. Metalizer II

08. Forest

09. Without You (bonus)

10. The Witchblade (bonus)

11. Killing Truth (bonus)

Label: Pitch Black Records
Distribution: Twilight
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: November 3rd 2010