Determined Damnation
Style: Pagan metal
Release date: April 24th 2009

Just looking at the cover I first thought the new King Diamond release arrived, but no. Another so called dark metal release, at least if we must believe the promo-department of Massacre, had arrived. I would just call it Pagan Metal. Wolfchant releases their third album and I have to say that they did a good job. Combining aggressive black vocals, melodic black metal, epic parts, clean backing vocals and sing a-long choruses, folk influences and so on; you get the idea.

Waylander, Finntrol, Cruachan, Eluveitie and Korpiklaani are some colleagues that cross my mind when I am listening to Wolfchant. Fans of this stuff should surely give this one a shot. There is not much more that can be said about this third release. If you like the style they play, you will find it a good record. The production is o.k., the songs are not bad and there is enough variety that keep your attention even after a few spins.

Just leaves me with one thing to say: the limited digipack includes two exclusive bonus tracks. Those interested know what to do!

01. Determination Begins
02. World in Ice
03. Until the End
04. Determined Damnation
05. In War
06. Fate of the Fighting Man
07. Kein Engel Hört Dich Flehen
08. A Raven's Flight
09. Never too Drunk
10. Schwerter Der Erde
11. Auf Blut Gebaut
12. Under The Wolves' Banner
13. Devour (bonus)
14. Warcry (bonus)
Label: Massacre Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: April 6th 2009
Website: www.myspace.com/wolfchant