Style: U.S. Hardrock/Metal
Release date: October 12th 2009

Who doesn't know the shock rockers W.A.S.P. (We Are Sexual Perverts) from the 80's with songs like "Animal (Fuck like a Beast)", "I Wanna be Somebody", "L.O.V.E. Machine" and "Blind in Texas". Well, they are back with another album. With the years passing by they don't shock us anymore and they have become a rather normal rock band.

The new songs are decent rock 'n' roll songs, sometimes rather fast, but most of the time rather mainstream and quite commercial. A lot of songs could get radio-airplay. It is definitely still very recognizable W.A.S.P. - of course the vocals of Blackie Lawless put a big stamp on that. The song "Babylon's Burning" is one of the better ones - this is an up-tempo track with a lot of Iron Maiden parts. I like the faster songs more than the slower ones, but that has always been my problem with these rockers.

Last track "Promised Land" is a very commercial bluesy country-like rock song which has not so much to do with metal. Of course every band would say that their last album is their best so far, but I think that is not the fact with 'Babylon'. I still prefer 'The Headless Children'. For W.A.S.P.-fans a decent record, but I don't think the rest of the world will be very surprised by this album. An average album that is nice to listen to at times, but not more than that.

(Most irritating of my promo is that every 2 minutes the music stops and there is a 2 seconds silence after which the song goes on again. They call that copyright protected, I just call it fucking irritating.)

01. Crazy
02. Live to Die Another Day
03. Babylon's Burning


05. Into the Fire
06. Thunder Red
07. Seas of Fire
08. Godless Run
09. Promised Land
Label: Demolition Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Reinier de Vries
Date: October 2nd 2009
Website: www.waspnation.com