Style: Progressive Death-Core Metal
Release date: June 15th 2009

Viatrophyís self-tilted debut album could very well be something for all you death-core freaks, Iím sure... but Iím left quite disappointed.


After listening to this CD 7 times in a row, I have had it. This band is more progressive than most metal-core bands out there, and we do get both aggressive parts and slower more heavy parts with breakdowns and start-stop riffs. Just like metal-core fans prefers it.


The only track that has done something for me is ďThe Ethereal Darkness". Itís a track that shifts between slow and almost doom-like metal to up-tempo death-thrash-core and back again. This track proves that the band does have the ability to write interesting riffs... but thatís about it.


Take track 9 ďThe Final LightĒ  for example... this track is quite progressive and contains a few interesting riffs but it seems to go on and on and on.


Death-thrash-core fans should definitely check this band out, because it might be something for them.


Iím simply missing the point here. Sorry.


01. Lux Tenebris

02. Mistress of Misery

03. Seas of Storms

04. The Etherreal Darkness

05. Aurora

06. Scenes of Extended Peril

07. Sufferance

08. Futile Prayers

09. The Final Light

10. Treachery

Label: Siege of Amida Records
Distribution: Plastic Head Music
Artwork rating: 55/100
Reviewed by: Peter Laursen
Date: October 12th 2009