The Invocation of Demise
Style: Black Metal
Release date: July 17th 2009

Adding nothing new to the genre whatsoever, Swedish Valkyrja have delivered something that can be best described as a solid punishment of the auditory canals.


Although moving in the more commercial (i.e. the album is produced and mixed) end of the black metal spectrum, it is still dirty and grim sounds that pour from the speakers Ė except the very pleasant acoustic pieces in Plague Death and Sinister Obsession.


Valkyrja favour long sections of double bass drumming, something that hardly adds variation to the overall experience. A track like The Vigil, on the other hand, with its half-tempo grind and heaviness in my view turns out to show one of the bandís strengths.

A decent enough release. but by no means a milestone. Immortal have not lived in vain, thatís my conclusion.


01. Origin Reversed

02. As Everything Rupture

03. Plague Death

04. The Vigil

05. Twilight Revelation

06. On Stillborn Wings

07. Sinister Obsession

08. Purification and Demise

09. Frostland 

Label: Metal Blade Records
Distribution: Target (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Thomas Nielsen
Date: June 25th 2009