Style: Doom Metal
Release date: March 20th 2009

You take one of the grandfathers of doom metal and let them do acoustic versions of four of their classics; "Misery Shows Act II", "Flowers", "Rain" and "Requiem", and what happens?

They show that the songs work in this environment as well; they get a whole new vibe and freshness to them. To spice things up they have recorded two brand new songs as well: "7:00 A.M." and "Smile", and even though they do never reach the same high standard that the classics do, they are still OK. They have put the plug back in on the four bonus tracks that originates back to 1992 and have been dug out from the bands archives to complete the album.

'Unplugged' marks the end of an era; vocalist Eric Wagner is blessing us with his vocal acrobatics for the last time (for now) in Trouble, and he has always been the centre of attention and one of the best vocalists in doom metal. And he does leave the band on a high note, and his shoes will be hard for Kory Clarke to fill...

An interesting release that shows a new side to a sadly much overlooked band. I really like the new acoustic versions, but this album is strictly for die-hard doom fanatics and Trouble fans, not much to gain for anybody else!

01. 7:00 A.M.
02. Rain
03. Flowers
04. Requiem
05. Smile
06. Misery
07. Mythic Hero (Bonus)
08. Waiting for the Sun (Bonus)
09. Fly (Bonus)
10. Heartful of Soul (Bonus)
Label: Trouble Inc.
Promotion: CMM GmbH
Distribution: A:Larm (Denmark)
Reviewed by: Kenn Jensen
Date: May 15th 2009